We’re Back!

LosAngeles0312_3892There is a poem by A.A. Milne, “The Old Sailor,” which says

There was once an old sailor my grandfather knew
Who had so many things which he wanted to do
That, whenever he thought it was time to begin,
He couldn’t because of the state he was in.

We read an awful lot of Mr. Milne these days.  He’s a family favorite (to the degree that my big brother is Christopher), and he pretty much sums up my state of mind.  There is SO much to do.  But then I think that’s how hoarders must feel and realize I have to pull myself together and take another favorite’s advice “best walk forward,” (oh Mary Poppins what would I do without you?).

Brooklyn0912_3569Obviously I took I hiatus–a much deserved hiatus.  I had my baby and I moved back to California.  I started up archiving again (from home!  Thank you Freelancers Union, for letting me keep my job remotely and allowing me to live the freelancing dream!).

Manhattan1212_3741And now Alice is nearly six-months old.  She says “hi da da da,” even though she doesn’t realize that’s Moses quite yet, and she can sit up for a few seconds before she falls sideways or forward (she’s quite limber).  As of 4 1/2 months she started to sleep through the night and now I have some time in the evenings when I’m not feverishly running to bed to try to get a few hours of sleep before she wakes.

Woodstock1012_3607She’s up at 6:30 on the nose, but I love mornings.  I go into her room and she usually been talking for a few minutes and making her slow rotation (still in her sleep sack) in her crib.  She smiles and holds out her arms for a pick up and hug and we go back to my room so I can feed her and she can squish daddy’s face in her (newly very strong) fingers.

Woodstock1012_3591As we get more and more settled and turn up long-lost things like USB cords for the camera so we can finally upload photos, it’s utterly amazing how very much she’s changed and grown.  Some how her eyes are still very blue and clothes I had and couldn’t imagine newborn Alice would ever wear fit like little sausage casings.     I have a newly pregnant friend who told me to have another–but wistful though I am, that’s a ways out.  I haven’t quite had time to forget waking every 90 minutes for three and a-half-months to feed this darling babe.

Manhattan1212_3730But, despite the long lists of things I can think of that need to be done each day, I promise I’ll update at least weekly.  It’s too important for me to keep a record of events and share.  I’m also looking at different blog platforms because this one isn’t my favorite (I also think that’s the nature of archiving.  I’m always SURE there’s a better, more effective method of preservation.  Yikes.)

Brooklyn1012_3613

One thought on “We’re Back!

Leave a Reply

