Breakfast Pizza

One of my favorite things is brunch.  I’m always trying to arm-wrestle someone into going with me.  The past two-times I’ve gone to a neighborhood place called Ortine.  It’s cute and small and centers mostly around pizza.  Their brunch is understated and really nice, and my favorite thing on the menu is their breakfast pizza.

They do a nice one with ricotta cheese, potatoes and eggs (which I always get over-hard because runny yolks are the worst).  The only downside is it’s 15 dollars!  It’s not a TON for an entre, I suppose, but more than I’d like to spend, so this week I decided to take matters into my own hands and make us our very own breakfast pizza.

It worked out pretty well, though I spotted an online recipe that opted for pie dough instead and made a breakfast gallette, which, trust me, would be better, but far more decadent.  All that butter…AND ricotta?  Yikes.

We used veggy bacon, fingerling potatoes and a very thin layer of ricotta as a base.  I added salt after baking because I could have used a pinch extra in the recipe I made up for the crust.  I also put in maple syrup instead of the pinch of sugar I usually use for pizza crust…because, you know, it’s breakfast.  But all in al a pretty amazing home remedy (and far less than 15 bucks total).

Breakfast Pizza Dough:

1 3/4 cup bread flour

1 cup semolina flour

1/2 cup corn meal

1 tablespoon sea salt

1 packet dried yeast

1 1/2 tablespoon maple syrup

2 cups luke warm water

Mix yeast with water and syrup and whisk with fork and let sit around 10 minutes.  Arrange flours and salt in a separate bowl and make a well in the middle.  Pour yeast/syrup mixture into the well and use your hands to turn the dough (keeping your hands floured so dough won’t stick).  Once dough is spongy and won’t mix any more, cover with dish towel and let sit for 10 to 15 minutes (you can use that time to dice potatoes, coat them in olive oil and red peper flakes if you’re making the breakfast pizza).

I use this dough for…everything.  Except for when I use it for dinner pizza I use brown sugar or honey in place of the syrup.

If you want to go the breakfast pizza route, just turn out the dough on to a parchment lined cookie sheet and pat into shape, cover with ricotta, oil, and arrange potatoes in a “fan” so they cook evenly and get crispy.  Put in the oven at 350 for 20 minutes or so, until potatoes look crunchy.  Pull out five minutes prior to “done” and crack the eggs over the top.  (We used two eggs and I did it ten minutes early because I’m an egg weirdo).  I also cooked veggy bacon on the stove top and crumpled and added to the top of the done pizza (veggy bacon isn’t very good unless it’s very crispy and burns quick, so I didn’t put it on until the end).

On a side note, Kitty Viv has a squirrel arch enemy.  I’ve been feeding (heavily feeding) a squirrel Moses has named Samantha, but I think is male.  He has three make-shift bird feeders to himself and just parks his squirrel butt on our window ledge and eats and eats and eats.  He also taunts Vivi.   In the midst of baking I went to check on her in the bedroom and saw this:  Which is basically a squirrel’s version of the finger, right?

 

Leave a Reply

