Oh Penelope

August has been a chaotic month.  Between a visit from my mother, a new job and a trip back home to California I decided the best option was to take a few weeks off from blogging.  In the midst of my hiatus so many things happened!

One of my favorites is my friends Sean and Hollie had their baby!  Penelope is now a part of our Brooklyn life, tiny fingers, hair bows and all.  As the best-dressed-baby on the Eastern coast (I knew she would be before she was even born), I scoured my brain for options on baby shower gifts when little Penny was still just a (very large) baby bump in her momma’s tummy.

In the end I made some one-sies using vintage ribbons I found at one of my favorite spots, Tinsel Trading Company.  While it wasn’t cheaper, it felt more authentic than buying something off the rack and gave me an opportunity to learn to sew a little…A special thanks to Lisa for letting me use not only her machine but also her expertise (and for making me a delicious dinner!).

And, in case you didn’t know, I LOVE wrapping gifts.  Apparently this interest is genetic–my mother’s an avid gift wrapper, too.  I try to avoid typical wrapping prints.  My dream is to one day have rolls of vintage wallpaper to use with twine.  A girl can dream…

Kitty Viv obviously helped, and I also made a quiche for the shower, which is one of my all time favorite recipes to make AND the first dish I ever mastered.  While studying in France my “Madame” (mother-away-from-home) taught me to make a perfect French quiche.  While the original featured bacon, I opt for a veggie version using caramelized onion, mushroom and swiss cheese in a home made crust.  Yum.

Leave a Reply

