I spent my childhood thinking if I could just change locations, everything would be different.  While this isn’t the case long-term, it’s true enough in the sort.  My mother was wrong: it’s NOT just your attitude.  Being in Paris really DOES make you happy, at least for a few days. 

The issue, of course, is routine.  Once your life becomes routine, those mean reds and Wendesday blues can find you anywhere.

If only we had a spy glass to show us the way we look to everybody else, sound to everyone else, it would help sooth.  If I could hear my mother say “Jamie lives in New York,” or “Jamie’s visiting San Francisco and Big Sur,” knowing how much better it sounds than most places, I’d be fine.

Leave a Reply

