Silver Lake Musings.

I got fired from a job as an insurance underwriter at 22.  I still don’t know what I was supposed to be doing, so it doesn’t surprise me now I was fired…but at the time it seemed unexpected.  I walked from the east side to the west through Central Park.  The sky was blue and there were bright yellow leaves on the gallery.

When I got to 9th Avenue I sat in a friend’s living room and cried while her small daughter offered me a honey bear jar as a condolence.  ”You can borrow some money, if you need to,” she told me.

How do people get adult lives? Real ones, with long term addresses and money they say they can loan you? Does anyone say what they do and believe they’ll be doing it another year? Decide to get a loan or a husband and know they’ll still like it next fall?

Leave a Reply

